The American Calgarian

Tales of a Midwesterner transplanted in Western Canada

A Valentine Romance

“I love you! I love you! Let’s get married!” smooch smooch smooch

“I love you too! I love you! Let’s get married!” smooch smooch smooch

Then, much to his surprise, she eats him.  The end.

A Valentine Story by Mid, a lover of the praying mantis

The story loses some of its effect when written out, as Mid will do many hand motions of the mantis kissing and the eventual eating of the male.  To answer the obvious question, yes, I have started saving for therapy for him, (just kidding, maybe).

Mid did not want to write out his Valentines for his class party.  He explained that he does not like Valentines Day, on account of all the lovin’ and other icky stuff.  I tried to explain to him that it is just as much about friendship and family as it is all that love business, but since I am not really a fan of the holiday either, I was not terribly convincing.  Not my best performance in convincing the kids to do something that I think is a bit corny.  To win him over, I baked.  What can I say?  The kid is an eating machine.

Here is wishing you and yours a great Valentines Day.  I hope you are not eaten at the end of the day.

Mid and Apprentice with the Unsuspecting Praying Mantis

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A Valentine Romance

  1. This is why children should have a father.

Leave a Reply

