The American Calgarian

Tales of a Midwesterner transplanted in Western Canada

Five Things, Week One

I try to be thankful for many people and things in my life.  So starting today, I would like to post a weekly “Five Things” that I am especially grateful at that particular time.

Here goes..

1. My children.  I know this one is a given, but this week I am proud of them for different, specific reasons.  The Girl earned her first Girl Guides badge this week, Apprentice is back in skating lessons (picked it up right where he left off in December) and Mid started a new basketball program where he does not know anyone.  While this may be tough for him, he is coming to the realization, (ever so slowly), that if you sit in the basement and play video games all the time it is tough to meet people and make new friends.

2. My legs. I am not competing for a spot on the Olympic marathon team, but I love to run and I am thankful for the ability to do so.  Let the training for the next marathon begin!

3. The Vice-Principal at the school my kids attend.  Her background is in art education and she is committed to bringing in fine arts at their school.  This week they had a drum circle concert thing, which was different from the usual assemblies they put on, and it was great.  This was different, because usually the assemblies are orderly, low volume and a bit reserved.  The drum circle was orderly, but loud and really fun!  It took me back to my glory days in marching band.

4. Friends that read this blog.  This a new adventure for me and I am grateful for the occasional comment that says, “I really like your blog.” It makes my day.  So, thanks.

5. Whomever invented Skype, (Al Gore? kidding, I crack myself up).  We are thankful for being able to keeping in touch with friends and family through Skype.  It makes us feel not so far away from all that is familiar.

That’s it for this week.  If you are so moved, please comment below on something that you are thankful for this week.  I plan to continue the weekly gratitude.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Five Things, Week One

  1. Your blog puts a smile to my face. Reminds me when I moved to Miami knowing 1 person. I left there 10 years later with probably my best friend forever. Keep surrounding yourself with lots of families and you are bound to find a kindred spirit amongst them.

  2. Janelle on said:

    Hello from someone you can refer to as MOO (Mom of one!)
    I am thankful that I have my ONE although time goes so quickly with her. She amazes me in ways not everyone can see, but I know her like any mom knows their children. Her humor and sarcasim are truly appreciated by me as I have indeed created a mini-me!

    I am also thankful that in the early years when I doubted myself and wondered if any of the things I did with her or for her truly “mattered”. Were all those life lessons and exhausting moments worth it? Would they matter long-term or should I have spent less time on/with her and just set her in front of the TV for days on end? Nope. From the mommy & me classes to trips to the park and zoo – it mattered. I love that” when a kid says “don’t tell your mom…” that I am her confidant. Her friends feel welcome & love here and tell me almost everything.

    Lastly I am thankful that I have a loving, supportive family. Big (forget half their spouses names after first-coisins!), loud, opinionated and strong. The newest addition, my other half was welcomed so openly and non judgemental. We shall call him PAL (Patient and loving) as being with me requires that at the bare minimum. Some people have “baggage” , I have trunks!

    I do so appreciate your stories and think you have quite a flair with words! So keep up the good work as it does send smiles to those of us miles and miles away!

    MOO!

  3. Trudy Schoening on said:

    I am thankful that I am allowed to read your blog! It is so interesting, so thanks! Trudy

  4. kbedalov on said:

    I like your posts and you keep me laughing.

    There is an opening for PTO Treasurer next year. We are leaving the position open for you if you would like it. 🙂

  5. I am thankful for my family – my amazing husband and sweet boys.
    I am thankful for all the wonderful people I have “met” in the blogging world.
    I am thankful for the snow that is right now falling from the sky.

    I like your idea of weekly gratitude.

  6. blogginglily on said:

    I was right. . . i missed this too.

    So last week was the vice principal, this week the principal. . . i’m excited to see you giving thanks for the superintendent next week. . .

Leave a Reply

