The American Calgarian

Tales of a Midwesterner transplanted in Western Canada

Process for Christmas Greetings

The Christmas cards (letters) are out!  I am almost done shopping and haven’t been terribly cranky yet.

Getting out the letters was tough this year, as I had a few spreadsheets to put together to be sure I got everyone.  The whole thing is difficult to explain, so please see below (wish I had flowchart software at home)…

Process for Mailing Christmas Cards

  1. Pour Coffee.
  2. Open Spreadsheets:
    • Holiday 2010
    • Charity Fundraising Spring 2011
    • Family Mailing Lists
    • Friends Mailing List
  3. Merge Spreadsheets and Run Check for Duplicates.
  4. Curse.
  5. Refill Coffee.
  6. Why are there missing addresses and emails?
  7. Track down missing emails and addresses through:
    • Facebook
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • Email Accounts
    • Mom
  8. Evaluate relationships with people whom I cannot locate addresses using the methods listed above.
  9. Refill Coffee.
  10. Update Consolidated Spreadsheet to New Folder “Holidays 2011”.
  11. Curse as I am reminded that I have an updated version of Excel, which will change the formatting when I “Save”.
  12. Walk away from computer.
  13. Refill Coffee.
  14. Return to Computer, fix formatting of spreadsheet.
  15. Send emails of Christmas letters in batches.
  16. Go to Post to snail mail those for whom I do not have a current email address.  Wait in line 20 minutes while man behind me coughs up a lung.
  17. Curse as I pay for industrial strength Vitamin C.
  18. Return home to find that I have forgotten some of husband’s friends.
  19. Upon his arrival home, instruct husband to mail out his own damn Christmas cards.
  20. Pour wine.
  21. Turn Fire Log on Television.

So there you have it.  I apologize in advance that the snail mail cards will be late.  I also apologize if I missed you; the new spreadsheet format through me for a loop.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Process for Christmas Greetings

  1. blogginglily on said:

    With all that coffee I’m AMAZED that “pee” was never in the list.

Leave a Reply

