The American Calgarian

Tales of a Midwesterner transplanted in Western Canada

Getting Physical

Hello, my name is Erika and I do aerobics. 

This has come as a surprise to many of my friends, as I am not terribly coordinated and don’t dance well, even for a white girl.  The thing is that I love to run and hope to do a few more races in my time, but last season I had terrible soreness and pain through my right IT Band.  So I have decided to take drastic action.  Better cross training.  Step Circuit Aerobics.

The instructor is a total badass, (I mean that as a compliment), making us do all these weights and steps and friggin’ core work.  I hate it.  I love it.  Most importantly, I need it.  I can feel the difference in my posture and overall conditioning.  The class is always full and fits into my schedule perfectly.  What’s not to like?  A good cardio workout and a gazillion reps with the weights and just when you think its over, additional core work.  By the end I am oddly perky, dripping in sweat and feel great, though sore pretty much all over.

So, this is news to many of my friends that have witnessed my marathon training and know of my lack of grace on the dance floor.  Just today I received a couple of notes exclaiming “What happened to you?” and “are you kidding?” and then…   One of my friends texted me.  “Check your email. Now. I ‘ll wait.” 

Hilarious.  Sad.  I miss those b*tches that had their husband graphic artist do this picture and send it to me.  It won’t stop me, though.  I may even get the whole Olivia Newton-John outfit.  Whew!  Glad I got that off my chest.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Getting Physical

  1. 🙂
    I will let you know how the “rockstar” fitness class I’m starting works out for cross training too.

  2. shannonkrause on said:

    Oddly, it wasn’t the legwarmers that got me. It was your use of the word “perky” as a post-aerobic adjective.

  3. I. Hate. You. For putting that stupid song in my head. All day now. . . guaranteed.

  4. It hurts so good! I laughed so hard when Jen sent me the picture. It was a good thing that I had just visited the ladies room moments before.

Leave a Reply

