The American Calgarian

Tales of a Midwesterner transplanted in Western Canada

Holy Sh*t, its Christmas

I get grumpy this time of year.  So much is expected of Mothers this time of year – have you finished your shopping? Are you having the family over for the holidays? Did you bake your gazillion cookies yet? Have you sent out cards yet?  Did you write a Christmas letter?  How many parties will you be attending?  – bah humbug.  Whatever happened to the humble beginnings of the baby wrapped in swaddled in the manger?  Did He get gifts?  Wait.  Crap. 

Our tree is up.  I have begun the task of putting up our decorations for the holiday.  Let me be clear, I love Christmas.  It is one of the greatest stories ever told of love for humankind, (John 3:16 16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.)  It’s all this non-biblical stuff that gets on my nerves.  The shopping, the crowds, do I say Merry Christmas? Happy Holidays? nothing at all?

One small victory for me this year – the tree. For years past, JB has insisted that we go out and find a real tree and bring it home.  This sounds harmless enough, until you hear the process.  He will take almost a week researching tree farms.  The types of trees available, hours, cost, how they sang to each tree as it grew, all that.  Then, one day, he will proclaim that he has chosen the tree farm and it is time to get the tree.  We will bundle up, all 5 of us, and yes, we went through all of this when we had babies in tow or I happened to be pregnant, put our saw in the car and head out.  Due to it being in Wisconsin, it would usually be cold, cloudy and snowy, which makes children complain.  We would spend 15+ hours searching the tree lot, (Okay, perhaps I exaggerated), debate which one we like best, (for me, always the first one), cut it down, drag it to the place where they “shake” the tree, wrap the tree and then we load it on top of the car.

This year I talked him into allowing – gasp! – a fake tree.  I am simply giddy with excitement as I put it up, not a single needle or drop of sap on the floor.  And the best part?  I can put it back in the box on December 27.

Yes, the decorations are up and I am little cranky.  Don’t worry, someone will find me under the mistletoe and I will forget why I got cranky to begin with.  Now, I have the get to the mall.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Holy Sh*t, its Christmas

  1. The fake tree is the way to go. We have two up and decorated. Three if you count Emma’s little desktop version.

  2. You go girl!! A bit of Bailey’s in the coffee always helps the Bah Humbugs. At least that is what I’ve heard. 😉

  3. Heather on said:

    Awww…. You still have the pillow I picked out just for my favorite grinch:)

Leave a Reply

