The American Calgarian

Tales of a Midwesterner transplanted in Western Canada

Sunrise

She was born in the fall of her 40th year, coming home to a place she’d never been before..
It does not have the same ring to it as John Denver’s “Rocky Mountain High”, but I truly felt like singing this today after driving home from dropping the kids at school. Truth be told, I sang. Really loud. And it was fun. And just another example of why JB will not endorse guitar lessons for me. He has this (only slightly) off base vision of me playing John Denver, Grateful Dead and Indigo Girls songs to the kids until I am blue in the face and they are flannel wearing, tie-dyed, long-haired hippies relaxing in the mountains after a day of skiing, biking or hiking, (depending on the season of course). But I digress.
When I posted some pictures of Calgary on Facebook after moving here, a friend commented, “I think you have found your happy place.” And you know what? I think I have. Is there anything better than the sunrise reflecting on snow-capped mountains with a sapphire blue sky? Every day that we have been here I have wanted to stop what I was doing at least once and take a picture. Instead, I have done this only half the time. Every day I do pause, though, and just take it all in. I have found my beach, as they say in the Corona ads.
Don’t get me wrong, I get homesick for the Badger State. We left many friends and family to make this move. The promise of another gorgeous sunrise helps to remind me that the Good Lord is looking out for us, and though I am not sure how it will look, things will work out the way they are meant to be.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Sunrise

  1. Yeah, but they all talk with that ridiculous accent. . .

    oh. . . oh yeah. . . awkward.

  2. Also. . . i hate you SOOOOoooo much for getting Colorado Rocky Mountain High stuck in my head now.

  3. I hate you for posting that pic……

  4. There’s a lot of hate going on in this blog, Berger.

  5. Rita Reinke on said:

    Erica; I’m enjoying your blog. I told your mom it’s the beginning of a book for you…..sounds like you’re very happy and that’s great…keep singing….
    all your missing here is reduced wages, jobs, infrastructure, etc….
    Rita Reinke

Leave a Reply

